A patient arrives for an appointment, and the front desk checks the insurance information. The response says the plan is active. The practice provides the service, submits the claim, and expects normal processing. Several weeks later, the insurance company denies the claim because the service is not covered under the patient’s benefit plan.
The billing team reviews its records and finds the original eligibility confirmation. Nothing appears to have been missed. The patient had active insurance, the member number matched, and the office verified coverage before treatment. Why, then, did the payer refuse payment?
The answer often lies in a detail that an active eligibility status does not establish: whether the specific service was covered by the patient’s actual plan on the date it was provided. An insurer can confirm enrollment while excluding a particular treatment, limiting certain benefits, or applying coverage rules that were not visible in a basic eligibility response. A plan may also have changed between verification and the appointment.
For medical practices, the challenge is not simply to verify insurance again. It is to determine whether the denial reflects a legitimate benefit restriction, a coverage change, or an incorrect payer decision. Each situation has different documentation requirements and may require a different financial resolution.
This guide explains why claims can be denied despite active eligibility, what benefit exclusions and plan changes mean, and how billing teams can identify the underlying issue without assuming that every denial should be appealed or billed to the patient.
Why Can a Claim Be Denied When Insurance Eligibility Is Active?
A claim can be denied despite active eligibility because enrollment and payment eligibility for an individual service are different determinations. The patient may have a valid insurance policy, but the service could be excluded, subject to a benefit limit, performed outside an applicable network, or affected by a plan change. The insurer also evaluates the details of the billed claim during adjudication.
An active response is useful evidence of what the eligibility system reported at the time of the inquiry. It is not a promise that the payer will reimburse every service the practice later submits.
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) describes the 270/271 eligibility inquiry process as a way for providers to obtain eligibility information for billing and related decisions. CMS guidance for its Medicare eligibility system explicitly cautions that an eligibility response does not guarantee payment. The particular plan’s terms and the facts on the date of service still matter.
Eligibility Verification and Benefit Verification Are Not the Same
Eligibility verification generally establishes whether the individual appears enrolled in a particular insurance plan for a given date or period. A typical response may identify the member, coverage status, plan information, and some cost-sharing details.
Benefit verification goes further. It asks whether the intended procedure, treatment setting, provider, or category of care falls within the patient’s benefits and whether limitations or other conditions apply. Some eligibility transactions provide service-specific benefit information, but the details available vary by payer and the type of inquiry.
For example, a patient may have active medical coverage that includes office visits but excludes a particular elective procedure under the applicable terms. The insurance card remains valid, and unrelated covered services may still be payable. The exclusion applies to the specific service, not to the patient’s entire enrollment.
PROMBS has a separate guide on patient eligibility verification for previsit checks and workflow improvement. Here, the focus is different: what the billing team should investigate after an active eligibility response is followed by a claim denial.
A Deductible Is Not the Same as a Denial
An insurer can process a covered claim correctly and pay $0 because the allowed amount is assigned entirely to the patient’s deductible. That is not necessarily a coverage denial. The remittance should identify the allowed amount, adjustment, and patient responsibility according to the adjudication.
In contrast, a service excluded by the plan may not qualify for covered reimbursement at all. The practice must review the actual denial and applicable billing restrictions before deciding whether any amount can be collected from the patient.
Benefit Exclusions: When Active Coverage Does Not Include the Service
A benefit exclusion means that a particular healthcare item or service is not covered under the applicable plan terms, subject to governing law and any relevant exceptions. The patient’s insurance may be fully active while the plan does not include that benefit.
According to HealthCare.gov’s definition of benefits, covered services and exclusions are defined by the plan’s coverage documents, or by applicable state program rules for Medicaid or CHIP. The plan document, not the active status alone, controls the coverage question.
A True Exclusion Versus an Incomplete Eligibility Check
Imagine a practice schedules a treatment after receiving an active eligibility response. The staff checks the patient’s office visit copay but does not confirm the benefits for the procedure that will actually be performed. After treatment, the claim is denied because that service is excluded under the plan’s terms.
If the applicable plan genuinely excludes the service and no law or exception requires coverage, resubmitting the same claim without changing the underlying issue is unlikely to make it payable. The team should document the exclusion, verify the policy effective for the service date, and determine the permitted financial disposition.
Now consider the same service under a plan that does cover it, but the payer incorrectly applied another product’s exclusion. The denial may look identical on a billing worklist, yet the appropriate action could be a payer inquiry, reconsideration, or appeal supported by the correct benefit language.
Where to Find the Applicable Benefit Terms
The patient’s Summary of Benefits and Coverage (SBC) can help identify major covered services, cost-sharing, and common limitations. However, the SBC is a summary, not the complete contract. Detailed questions may require the certificate of coverage, evidence of coverage, plan document, applicable rider, or official payer policy for the relevant product and date.
Billing employees should confirm the plan identifier and effective period before relying on the document. A current benefit summary downloaded after the denial may not describe the terms that applied months earlier.
Benefit Limits Are Different From Exclusions
Some services are covered only up to a stated number of visits or units, within a defined benefit period, or under particular conditions. If the permitted limit has been reached, a claim may be denied even though the benefit itself exists.
For example, a plan might cover a defined number of therapy visits under specified conditions. A claim for an additional visit could require review of the recorded utilization, policy terms, and any available exceptions. The practice should not immediately classify it as a service that was never covered.
Similarly, an insurer may deny payment because it believes the service did not meet a medical necessity or authorization requirement. Those decisions are not automatically proof of a benefit exclusion. They should be investigated under the applicable clinical and administrative rules.
How Insurance Plan Changes Lead to Denials After an Active Check
Insurance information can be accurate when verified and still be different on the actual date of service. A patient may switch employer plans, enroll in a different product with the same insurer, become covered under another payer, or experience a retroactive coverage update.
The Carrier Stayed the Same, but the Plan Product Changed
Consider an illustrative case involving a specialty practice. A patient’s Plan A covers a particular outpatient treatment through September 30. The patient moves to Plan B under the same insurance carrier effective October 1, and Plan B has a different benefit provision for that treatment.
The practice performed an eligibility check on September 25 and saw active coverage under Plan A. The appointment took place on October 10. Staff submitted the claim using information from the previous verification, and the insurer denied it under the terms of Plan B.
The original active status was not necessarily wrong. It described the enrollment information available for the earlier inquiry. The question is whether Plan B was effective on October 10 and whether its applicable terms truly excluded or restricted the service.
A billing specialist should compare the original eligibility response, the date-of-service enrollment history, the product or group identifier, and the benefit document effective for the treatment date. Only then can the team determine whether the denial was correct.
Coverage Terminated or Began on a Different Effective Date
Another common problem concerns the dates on which insurance coverage starts and ends. A practice might verify a patient as active before a scheduled visit, only to learn that employment-based coverage ended before the appointment or that a new plan started later than expected.
Sometimes the information is updated retrospectively. For example, an enrollment correction may change the date the insurer considers coverage effective. An earlier eligibility screen may still show what the system reported before that correction.
A denial involving coverage dates should therefore be reviewed against the date of service, not simply the date the claim was submitted or denied. If coverage existed during the visit but the payer applied an incorrect effective date, the practice may have grounds to request a review. If coverage genuinely had not begun or had ended, the team should investigate other possible coverage and applicable billing obligations.
Retroactive Termination Requires Particular Care
Certain coverage arrangements allow retroactive changes under specific circumstances. One example involves qualified health plans on the Marketplace and applicable premium grace-period rules for eligible enrollees receiving advance premium tax credits.
Under those rules, some claims arising during later portions of a qualifying grace period can be pended and subsequently denied following a permitted retroactive termination. This is not a general rule for every commercial insurance product, and the details depend on the regulatory circumstances.
A practice should investigate the plan’s actual termination notice, service date, and applicable requirements rather than assuming an earlier active response conclusively establishes payment. See PROMBS’s grace-period billing guide and the CMS explanation of premium grace-period claims for the specific rules. This claim investigation should focus on the enrollment facts and denial.
How to Distinguish a Coverage Exclusion From Other Denial Causes
When a claim is denied after an active eligibility check, the first task is to identify the type of problem. A service exclusion is only one possibility, and selecting the wrong category can lead to an unnecessary appeal, inaccurate correction, or inappropriate patient bill.
| Situation | What it may mean | First question to investigate |
|---|---|---|
| Benefit exclusion | The applicable plan does not cover the specific service | Which benefit provision applies to the service date? |
| Benefit maximum reached | A covered benefit has reached its applicable usage limit | Were visits or units counted correctly? |
| Coverage not effective | Enrollment began later or ended earlier than the service date | What are the verified effective dates? |
| Wrong plan or payer | The claim was processed under an incorrect product or carrier | Which plan was responsible on the service date? |
| Authorization or medical necessity issue | A condition for payment was not met or was applied incorrectly | What requirement does the denial identify? |
| Payer processing error | Correct coverage exists but the insurer applied inconsistent data | What evidence contradicts the adjudication? |
These categories are starting points, not final determinations. The explanation of benefits or electronic remittance advice may identify a reason code, but the team still needs to compare the decision against the applicable records.
A Covered Service Can Still Fail a Different Requirement
Suppose a service is covered under the patient’s benefit plan, but the plan requires prior authorization. If authorization was not obtained when required, a denial may result even though the benefit exists and the patient is enrolled.
Likewise, a covered service may have network, location, or medical necessity requirements that affect payment. The practice must determine whether the payer applied the correct rule to the service actually provided.
PROMBS examines authorization-to-claim mismatches in its article on claims denied despite approved authorization. The present topic is narrower: establishing which benefit plan and coverage period applied before deciding what type of denial occurred.
What the Original Eligibility Response Can and Cannot Establish
Many practices use electronic eligibility inquiries before appointments. An ASC X12 270 is an eligibility request, and the corresponding 271 returns available eligibility and benefit information. The response may contain coverage dates, plan details, service categories, and patient cost-sharing data, depending on the transaction and payer.
The information is useful, but a response reporting active coverage may not resolve every benefit question. It also may not reflect a later enrollment change or all conditions for payment. CMS specifically cautions providers using its eligibility system that eligibility information should not be interpreted as a guarantee of claim reimbursement.
The final claim decision is communicated separately, often through an 835 electronic remittance advice. That response can indicate a noncovered service, a coverage-date problem, or another adjustment requiring investigation. The official X12 Claim Adjustment Reason Codes include code 204 for a service not covered under the patient’s current benefit plan, code 26 for expenses before coverage, and code 27 for expenses after termination.
Those code descriptions help classify the denial, but they do not prove that the payer’s underlying enrollment or benefit information is correct. The group code and any accompanying remark codes should also be considered before making financial decisions.
The First Review: What Should the Billing Team Check?
Before sending a corrected claim or appeal, the team should put three records side by side: the eligibility response retained from the original verification, the patient’s coverage and benefit information for the actual date of service, and the payer’s final denial or remittance.
Start by matching the patient, member number, insurance product, effective dates, rendering provider, and service details. Determine whether the original check was for the intended date and service category or only a general current-status inquiry.
Next, identify the exact basis for nonpayment. Was the service excluded, the visit limit reached, coverage terminated, or a requirement such as prior authorization applied? If the denial refers to a plan or date that does not match the verified history, document the discrepancy and obtain the correct historical coverage information.
Finally, avoid transferring the balance to the patient merely because the payer denied it. Provider agreements, program rules, state and federal protections, and other coverage can affect who is financially responsible. A properly documented inquiry may establish that the payer should reprocess the claim, while a genuine exclusion may call for a different compliant disposition.
For practices repeatedly dealing with cases described as eligibility active claim denied, PROMBS’s verification and prior authorization support can help strengthen the connection between coverage checks and later billing decisions. Its denial management services also support investigation when the original eligibility and final adjudication do not agree.
Reading a Denied Claim When Eligibility Was Active
Once the billing team confirms that an earlier eligibility check showed active coverage, the next question is not whether that screen was accurate. It is whether the insurer used the correct plan, coverage dates, and benefit terms when it processed the claim.
The explanation of benefits (EOB) or electronic remittance advice (ERA) is the starting point. It identifies the payer’s adjustment and, when reported, the financial responsibility assigned to the provider or patient. However, the remittance is an explanation of the payer’s decision, not independent proof that the decision is correct. A practice needs to compare it with the historical enrollment record and applicable plan documents.
What Do CO-204, CO-96, CO-26, and CO-27 Mean?
The Claim Adjustment Reason Code (CARC) describes why an insurer adjusted or denied payment. The two-letter group code adds information about financial responsibility. X12 maintains the official definitions, and CMS explains how group, reason, and remark codes work together on an 835 remittance.
| Reason code | Meaning | First investigation |
|---|---|---|
| 204 | The service, equipment, or drug is not covered under the patient’s current benefit plan | Verify the exact plan product and the applicable exclusion |
| 96 | Noncovered charge; a qualifying remark code is required | Read the accompanying remark and identify the coverage rule |
| 26 | Expenses incurred before coverage began | Compare the service date with the actual enrollment start date |
| 27 | Expenses incurred after coverage terminated | Confirm the termination date and any later correction or reinstatement |
| 119 | Benefit maximum for the period or occurrence was reached | Check the limit, recorded utilization, and benefit period |
| 109 | The claim or service is not covered by this payer or contractor and should go to the correct payer | Determine which insurer was responsible on the service date |
A denial displayed as CO-204 is not automatically the same as PR-204. CO means contractual obligation, while PR signals patient responsibility in the remittance. Neither combination should replace a review of the provider agreement, applicable law, other insurance, and any required patient notices. The billing team must also consider OA for other adjustments and PI for certain payer-initiated reductions when they appear.
For code 96, an accompanying remark code is especially important because the general description alone may not identify the actual noncoverage reason. If the payer says the service is excluded, ask for the plan provision and effective date supporting that decision. If a benefit maximum was reached, obtain the utilization detail. If coverage terminated, obtain the historical enrollment dates. A generic appeal stating that eligibility was active will not address those different findings.
Compare the Original 271 Eligibility Response With the 835 ERA
The original electronic eligibility response and the later remittance answer different questions. A 271 may report available enrollment and benefit information at the time of the inquiry. The 835 reports how the payer eventually adjudicated the submitted claim. Reviewing the two side by side helps locate the point at which the information diverged.
Match the Patient, Plan, and Date of Service
Retrieve the original 270 inquiry and 271 response where available. Preserve the inquiry date and time, requested service date or coverage period, member identifier, payer destination, plan or group identifier, and any service-type benefit information returned. If the office used a payer portal instead, retain its dated confirmation and the specific information displayed.
Then compare those details with the claim and remittance. A claim may have been submitted with an old member ID, outdated group number, wrong payer ID, or incorrect service date. It may also have been submitted under the correct carrier but the wrong plan product. An active response for a September 1 inquiry does not establish which plan covered treatment on September 15 unless the response and related records actually address that date.
The clinical service matters too. A general eligibility inquiry for office visits may not establish benefits for an imaging study, therapy service, durable medical equipment item, or specialty procedure. Check the billed CPT or HCPCS code, place of service, provider network status, and the exact benefit category. If the 271 did not return a service-specific answer, do not fill the gap by assuming that the service was covered.
Reconstruct Historical Coverage Instead of Relying on Today’s Portal
A current payer portal may show the patient’s newest enrollment status without clearly explaining which product applied months earlier. Request a historical eligibility review for the date of service, including the effective start and termination dates of each relevant plan. When the information conflicts with the original response, ask the payer to identify when its enrollment record changed and why.
The plan’s Summary of Benefits and Coverage (SBC) can help identify broad coverage provisions, but detailed exclusions may require the certificate of coverage, evidence of coverage, rider, or another governing document. HealthCare.gov explains how patients can obtain an SBC. Use the version applicable to the actual service date rather than assuming a current document describes a previous plan year.
Claim Example 1: Active Insurance, but a New Plan Excludes the Service
A specialty practice verifies a patient’s insurance on August 25, 2026. The response shows active enrollment with Plan A. The patient receives an outpatient service on September 12, and the claim is later denied with CARC 204.
During follow-up, the billing team learns that the patient changed to Plan B under the same insurance company effective September 1. The original check accurately reflected the earlier plan, but it did not establish that Plan A remained in force on September 12. The practice had submitted the claim using the previous benefit information.
The correct next step is to obtain the historical enrollment record and Plan B’s applicable benefit terms. If the service is genuinely excluded under Plan B, and no law, exception, or other coverage changes the determination, a payment appeal based only on Plan A’s benefits would be weak. The team must instead determine the appropriate financial disposition and whether patient billing is permitted.
Now change one fact. Suppose Plan B actually covers the service, but the payer processed the claim using the exclusion from another product. The same CARC 204 denial could warrant reconsideration. A useful request would identify the correct Plan B product, its September 1 effective date, the applicable coverage provision, and the service performed on September 12. The evidence addresses the adjudication error rather than repeating that the patient’s insurance was active.
This scenario is why the payer’s brand name is not enough. The product, effective date, and service-specific benefit terms determine whether the exclusion is supported.
Claim Example 2: Calculating a Potential Payment Error After a Benefit Denial
Consider a hypothetical outpatient claim with a billed charge of $900. The ERA reports a $0 insurer payment and a benefit-related denial. The practice checks the correct plan document and finds that the service appears covered when the documented requirements are met.
The relevant contract establishes an allowed amount of $560. For this example, assume the patient’s correct coinsurance is 20%, no deductible applies, and there is no other payer or adjustment. Expected patient coinsurance would be $112 ($560 x 20%), while expected insurer reimbursement would be $448 ($560 – $112).
If the payer incorrectly denied the claim despite all coverage and payment requirements being satisfied, the potential insurer payment discrepancy is $448, not the full $900 billed charge. The practice should classify that figure as a supported estimate until the payer reviews the evidence. It is not collected revenue and is not a guarantee of payment.
If the investigation instead confirms a genuine exclusion, the $448 estimate is no longer a supportable reimbursement opportunity under those assumptions. The billed amount also does not automatically become the patient’s responsibility. The contract, applicable law, prior notices, and any remaining coverage must be reviewed before a statement is issued.
This distinction keeps denial reports accurate. Practices should not count every noncovered charge at its full billed value as potentially recoverable revenue. PROMBS’s denial management services support investigation of these differences so the appropriate next action is based on the claim record and reimbursement rules.
Claim Example 3: A Coverage-Termination Denial Conflicts With the Earlier Check
A physician’s office checks a patient’s coverage on June 5 and receives an active response. The patient is treated on June 12. In July, the claim returns with CARC 27, indicating that the service occurred after the payer’s recorded termination date.
The billing team contacts the insurer and learns that an enrollment update entered later changed the termination date to May 31. The earlier eligibility response and the final adjudication now point to different coverage information.
The practice should obtain the historical enrollment explanation, not merely send the June 5 screenshot as a demand for payment. Was the termination based on an employer eligibility correction, a plan transfer, nonpayment of premium, or another event? Was the effective date entered correctly? Did another plan cover the patient on June 12? Could a permitted reinstatement or enrollment correction apply?
If the payer’s termination record is wrong, documentation from the plan administrator, employer, or other authorized enrollment source may support a correction request. If the termination is valid, the team must investigate other coverage and the applicable responsibility rules rather than assuming the earlier active response guarantees reimbursement.
One special situation involves certain Marketplace plans with a qualifying premium grace period. Depending on the governing requirements, claims for services in later months of that period may be pended and then denied after a permitted retroactive termination. These specific rules do not apply to every commercial plan. For more detail, PROMBS explains the distinctions in its grace-period billing guide.
Claim Example 4: A Benefit Limit or Wrong Payer Is Mistaken for an Exclusion
A therapy practice receives a denial showing CARC 119, indicating that a benefit maximum has been reached. The front office previously verified the patient’s active coverage, so staff initially categorize the claim as an eligibility error.
However, the correct investigation concerns utilization. The team should review the number of visits or units allowed, the relevant benefit period, and any services already counted by the payer. If the payer included duplicate visits or used an incorrect benefit period, the practice may have a documented basis for review. If the maximum was genuinely reached and no exception applies, an active eligibility response does not establish additional covered visits.
A different claim with CARC 109 points toward the responsible payer rather than a service exclusion. The patient may have changed plans, or another insurer may have primary responsibility. The team should confirm coordination of benefits and submit to the appropriate payer under its requirements instead of repeatedly appealing a denial from an insurer that is not responsible.
What Evidence Belongs in a Benefit-Exclusion or Plan-Change Review?
Once the team identifies a plausible discrepancy, it should assemble a concise, claim-specific record. Begin with the original eligibility response and its timestamp, the submitted claim, the complete EOB or ERA, and the payer’s written explanation of the denial. Add the relevant historical enrollment record and the plan provision effective on the service date.
For a disputed exclusion, highlight the benefit language that supports coverage and connect it to the actual procedure, setting, and provider. For a plan-change dispute, include the old and new plan identifiers, effective dates, any enrollment correction notice, and relevant correspondence from an authorized source. For a benefit-maximum dispute, request the payer’s utilization history and compare it with the practice’s records.
The written request should explain one clear issue: which fact or rule appears incorrect, where the supporting evidence appears, and what correction is being requested. It may ask the payer to verify historical eligibility, apply the proper plan benefits, reconsider a denial, or reprocess a claim when that procedure is available.
Do not attach unrelated medical records or disclose more patient information than necessary. Submit documentation through approved secure channels, observe the applicable review deadline, and retain the payer’s confirmation and reference number. HealthCare.gov explains available internal appeal rights for covered health-plan decisions; provider-level processes and deadlines may differ by program and contract.
Choose the Correct Resolution Instead of Appealing Every Denial
The final action should follow the verified reason for nonpayment. A claim that was accurately billed but processed under the wrong benefit policy may warrant a reconsideration or appeal. A claim containing an incorrect insurance identifier or payer destination may require correction or submission to the responsible payer under the applicable filing rules. A valid exclusion may require a documented adjustment or another permitted financial resolution, not a repeated claim submission.
When to Request Reprocessing or Appeal
Ask the payer to review its determination when the relevant records support a specific error. The most persuasive requests identify the correct plan and service date, quote or reference the applicable benefit provision, and explain why the adjudication conflicts with that information. If a medical necessity or authorization condition is the real issue, the evidence should address that condition instead of relying on eligibility alone.
A favorable review does not guarantee full payment. The claim remains subject to applicable cost-sharing, contract rates, coding requirements, and other adjudication rules. After any reprocessing, the billing team should examine the new ERA and confirm the actual payment and adjustments.
When to Correct the Claim or Investigate Other Coverage
If the claim was submitted under an obsolete plan or contained incorrect payer information, verify what was wrong before making changes. Follow the payer’s instructions for corrected claims or new submissions, and check timely filing requirements. A plan change does not automatically restart every filing deadline.
If another insurer may be responsible, establish the actual coverage order and supporting documentation before billing the next payer. Repeatedly sending the same claim to a carrier that is not responsible can create additional denials without resolving the underlying problem.
When No Additional Insurer Payment Is Due
If the investigation confirms that the correct plan excluded the service and no applicable exception or protection requires coverage, document the basis for the decision. Determine whether a contractual adjustment, other coverage review, or appropriately authorized patient balance is permitted. A denial is not automatic permission to bill the patient. Financial responsibility depends on the remittance, provider agreement, program requirements, applicable law, and any required advance notice or other protections.
The account should reflect the final determination accurately. An unresolved denial should not be silently closed as a contractual write-off, and a legitimately nonpayable amount should not remain indefinitely in insurance accounts receivable. The practice should also explain the outcome clearly when the patient has questions.
Document the Final Decision and Make the Handoff Clear
A useful investigation record answers what coverage was verified, which plan applied on the date of service, why the payer denied the service, and whether the outcome was supported. It should also identify the next owner of the account: payer follow-up, corrected-claim processing, secondary billing, patient account review, or approved adjustment.
For claims that move into dispute, retain the submission date, payer reference number, required response deadline, and supporting evidence. For claims that are resolved, compare the final adjudication with the practice’s ledger so an incorrect adjustment or patient balance is not left behind.
Through its revenue cycle management services, PROMBS helps practices connect eligibility verification, claim adjudication review, denial follow-up, and payment reconciliation. That connection matters because the original question, why was an eligible patient’s claim denied?, is not fully answered until the claim has a supported financial disposition.
How Healthcare Practices Can Prevent Denials After Active Eligibility Checks
An eligibility response can be accurate at the moment it is received and still leave important coverage questions unanswered. That is why prevention cannot depend on a green “active” indicator alone. Practices need a process that connects the patient’s enrollment, the service being planned, the benefit terms effective on the date of service, and any requirements that could affect payment.
The objective is not to promise that every verified claim will be paid. It is to identify avoidable mismatches early and document what the practice knew when it provided care. CMS cautions that even a Medicare 271 eligibility response does not guarantee claim payment. The same general distinction between verification and final adjudication matters across other insurance arrangements, although their rules differ.
Verify Benefits for the Actual Service, Not Just the Insurance Card
At scheduling, confirm the insurance product and the coverage information available for the expected service date. For procedures with meaningful coverage restrictions, staff should go beyond a basic eligibility check and review service-specific benefits, relevant exclusions, visit or unit limits, network requirements, and any authorization conditions. The detail available through an electronic 271 varies, so a payer portal, plan document, or authorized payer inquiry may be necessary.
A repeat check close to the appointment can catch changes that occurred after scheduling. For planned procedures, the team should also confirm whether the service or treatment setting changed after the original verification. A covered office evaluation does not establish that an additional procedure is covered, and authorization for one service does not necessarily apply to another.
Record the inquiry date, the relevant service date, the plan or group details, the source of the information, and any reference number provided. If benefits remain unclear, explain the uncertainty rather than describing the service as guaranteed to be covered.
Make Insurance Changes Trigger a New Review
A patient who keeps the same insurance carrier may nevertheless move to a different product with different benefits. Job changes, open enrollment, dependent-status updates, coordination-of-benefits changes, and coverage reinstatements can also alter the applicable records.
Create a straightforward trigger: whenever the patient reports an insurance change, the payer returns different plan information, or an appointment moves across a coverage-effective date, staff should recheck the relevant benefits. Compare the old and new product identifiers and obtain historical coverage information when necessary. The correct question is which plan applied on the day care was provided, not simply whether the patient appears active today.
Retroactive termination deserves separate monitoring. Under the 2026 CMS Federally-facilitated Exchange Enrollment Manual, certain Marketplace issuers may pend claims in months two and three of an applicable three-month premium grace period and later deny them following permitted retroactive termination. This specific rule should not be generalized to all insurance plans. Practices should follow the actual coverage and notice requirements rather than assuming an earlier active response prevents later changes.
Connect Front-Desk Findings With Coding and Billing
Eligibility information has limited value if it remains only in a registration note. The billing team needs enough detail to identify the correct payer and product, compare the submitted service with verified benefits, and investigate any discrepancy that appears on the remittance.
A reliable handoff should flag material limitations before service whenever possible. For example, if a therapy benefit has a visit limit, staff should document the available information and any unresolved questions for the appropriate clinical and administrative teams. If a procedure changes after scheduling, the benefit and authorization review should be revisited where the change affects payment requirements.
Patient communications also need care. An estimate should distinguish known cost-sharing from amounts that depend on later adjudication. No one should tell a patient that active eligibility guarantees insurance reimbursement or that a later denial automatically makes the entire charge their responsibility.
KPIs That Reveal Coverage Problems Hidden Behind Active Eligibility
Management needs more than a count of eligibility checks or a total denial rate. A more useful dashboard measures how often coverage-related denials occur despite a documented active response, whether the problem was a real exclusion or a processing error, and how cases were ultimately resolved.
| KPI | Suggested calculation | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Active-check coverage denial rate | Unique claims initially denied for a coverage-related reason despite a documented active check ÷ comparable initially adjudicated claims with documented active checks × 100 | Shows how frequently active verification still leads to a coverage dispute |
| Service-specific benefit verification rate | Applicable high-risk encounters with documented service-specific benefit review ÷ high-risk encounters requiring that review × 100 | Measures the completeness of the pre-service process |
| Plan-change detection rate | Confirmed relevant plan changes identified before service ÷ confirmed relevant plan changes in the reviewed population × 100 | Shows how well the practice catches changes before billing |
| Verified payer error rate | Reviewed coverage denials with evidence of incorrect payer adjudication ÷ coverage denials with completed investigations × 100 | Separates payer mistakes from valid exclusions |
| Documented disposition rate | Reviewed coverage-denial accounts with a supported final disposition ÷ reviewed coverage-denial accounts × 100 | Identifies unresolved or poorly documented accounts |
| Actual additional reimbursement | Additional insurer payments received and posted after supported corrections or successful reviews | Measures realized recovery, not the value of every denied charge |
These are suggested operational KPIs, not universal industry benchmarks. Define the reporting period and denominator consistently, exclude duplicate adjudications where appropriate, and avoid treating a correct deductible allocation as a coverage denial.
Example: What a Monthly Denial Review Could Reveal
Consider a fictional practice with 1,500 initially adjudicated claims that had a documented active eligibility check for the relevant period. Ninety claims receive an initial coverage-related denial, producing a rate of 90 ÷ 1,500 × 100 = 6%.
A subsequent review classifies 40 as valid exclusions or benefit limits, 20 as plan or effective-date mismatches requiring further resolution, 12 as evidence-supported suspected payer errors, eight as inaccurate submission or payer-routing problems, and 10 as still awaiting enough information. Those groups add up to 90, but they do not represent 90 recoverable claims. Some may have no payable benefit, while others may require different claim or coverage actions.
Suppose seven of the 12 suspected payer-error cases later produce a combined $2,480 in additional payments that are received and posted. That is realized insurer reimbursement. The remaining suspected errors should stay in an unresolved or pending category until the payer makes its determination. The original billed charges of all 90 claims should not be labeled lost revenue.
The practice can now address a genuine operational question: Are new denials primarily associated with plan transitions, excluded services, incorrect payer adjudication, or inaccurate registration? That is much more useful than reporting that insurance was “active” on every denied account.
A Monthly Audit for Eligibility-Related Denials
A monthly audit should examine both claims still in the denial queue and claims that were closed after noncovered-service or coverage-date adjustments. A closed account is not necessarily a correctly resolved account, especially when posting software automatically applies adjustments or transfers balances.
Compare the Denial With the Evidence Retained Before Care
Select claims by payer, plan product, service category, and adjustment reason. For each sampled account, verify whether the initial eligibility response covered the actual date of service, which benefits were checked, and which historical plan document applied. Compare that information with the final EOB or ERA, including relevant group, reason, and remark codes.
High-risk populations may warrant a complete review rather than a sample, particularly after an identified payer-system issue or enrollment conversion. If multiple cases share the same verified cause, expand the audit to determine whether other claims were affected. Do not assume every claim carrying CARC 204 or 27 has the same root cause.
Audit Financial Responsibility and Closed Balances
Review whether contractual adjustments were posted appropriately and whether patient responsibility was assigned only after the relevant coverage and billing requirements were checked. A noncovered-service denial is not automatic permission to charge the patient. For Original Medicare, certain anticipated denials require an appropriate Advance Beneficiary Notice of Noncoverage to transfer potential liability; the rules vary with the type of service and denial. Commercial plans, Medicaid programs, and federal or state patient protections have separate requirements.
Also confirm that successful payer reviews produced the correct replacement adjudication and payment posting. The audit should distinguish an overturned denial from actual cash collected, and a valid write-off from an unexplained zero balance.
Turn Audit Findings Into Process Changes
Assign each repeated issue an owner and a preventive action. A plan-change mismatch may call for a registration trigger, while an incorrectly applied exclusion may require a payer escalation and a targeted review of similar claims. An outdated benefit reference may require an update to verification procedures. Measure new claims after the change to see whether comparable denials decline.
PROMBS’s guide to denial root-cause analysis explains why correcting an existing claim and preventing the next occurrence are separate responsibilities. Both matter here.
How Pro Medical Billing Solutions Helps Practices Resolve Coverage-Related Denials
When a claim is denied despite an active eligibility response, the relevant information may sit in several places: front-desk verification records, payer enrollment history, the plan’s benefit documents, claim submissions, and remittance transactions. For a busy practice, locating and connecting those records can consume time that employees also need for new patient visits and routine billing.
Pro Medical Billing Solutions (PROMBS) supports healthcare practices through verification, billing, denial management, and revenue cycle services designed to bring those records into a more consistent workflow. The objective is to identify supportable reimbursement opportunities and improve billing accuracy, not to promise that every denial can be overturned.
Benefits Verification and Prior Authorization Support
PROMBS’s verification of benefits and prior authorization services help practices examine eligibility, coverage information, patient cost-sharing, and authorization requirements. For services that warrant greater scrutiny, these activities can support more complete previsit checks and identification of changes that may affect the planned treatment.
Benefit verification should still be documented as information available at the time of review, not as a guarantee of final payment. The goal is to reduce avoidable surprises and give the billing team a clear starting point if the payer later applies a different plan or coverage determination.
Denial Investigation and Appropriate Payer Follow-Up
Through denial management services, PROMBS supports claim investigation, payer communication, correction workflows, and appropriate appeal-related follow-up. In a benefit-exclusion case, the relevant task may be validating the actual plan language and determining whether the payer used the correct benefit product. In a termination case, it may involve establishing the historical coverage dates and whether a correction is warranted.
These are evidence-dependent decisions. A legitimate exclusion requires a different resolution from a payer processing error, and repeatedly resubmitting the same claim is not an adequate substitute for finding the cause.
Revenue Cycle Reporting and Payment Reconciliation
PROMBS’s medical billing services include payment posting, ERA/EOB reconciliation, and A/R follow-up. Its revenue cycle management services support broader tracking and reporting across the claim lifecycle.
Those functions matter after a denial is reviewed. If the insurer reprocesses the claim, the practice needs to confirm the actual payment and adjustments. If the denial is correct, the account needs a supported disposition. If similar discrepancies recur, management needs payer- and plan-specific reporting to decide where to improve the workflow.
A Focused Audit of Repeated Eligibility and Benefit Problems
PROMBS also offers medical billing and coding audit services. A focused review can help practices examine eligibility-related denial patterns, coding and claim details, questionable adjustments, and opportunities to strengthen documentation and follow-up.
A useful audit distinguishes correct coverage decisions from actual billing or payer errors. That provides a more reliable basis for deciding what should be appealed, corrected, adjusted, or monitored in the future.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Why was my patient’s claim denied when insurance showed active?
An active response indicates available enrollment information, not universal coverage for every service. The patient’s plan may exclude the treatment, limit the benefit, require other payment conditions, or have changed by the date of service. The billing team should compare the original verification, historical plan information, and the actual denial before choosing the next action.
2. Does a 271 eligibility response guarantee insurance payment?
No. A 271 may provide useful eligibility and benefit details, but it is not the final claim determination. The insurer still adjudicates the submitted service under the applicable coverage and payment rules. CMS explicitly states that its Medicare eligibility responses do not guarantee claim payment. The practice should retain the original response as evidence of what was reported, without treating it as an authorization to collect reimbursement.
3. What is the difference between CO-204 and a coverage-termination denial?
CARC 204 concerns a service, equipment item, or drug not covered under the patient’s current benefit plan. CARC 27 concerns expenses incurred after coverage terminated, while CARC 26 concerns expenses before coverage began. The billing team should read the full remittance and applicable group and remark codes, then investigate the matching benefit provision or enrollment dates. Codes classify the payer’s explanation; they do not independently establish its accuracy.
4. Can a claim be appealed when the plan really excludes the service?
A practice may have a review option depending on the payer, governing law, and circumstances. However, proof that eligibility was active does not by itself invalidate a genuine exclusion. A successful dispute generally needs a specific basis, such as the wrong plan document, an applicable exception, incorrect service classification, or another error. The team should verify the review process and deadline rather than assuming every exclusion is reversible.
5. What happens if the patient’s insurance plan changed after verification?
First determine which product and effective dates applied when care was provided. A plan change after the appointment may not affect that service, while a change effective before the appointment could alter the available benefits. Compare the original eligibility inquiry with historical enrollment records and the correct plan’s coverage terms. If the payer used the wrong effective date or product, an administrative correction or review may be appropriate.
6. Can coverage be terminated retroactively after a claim was submitted?
Yes, in certain circumstances and under applicable rules. A retroactive enrollment correction or a qualifying Marketplace premium grace-period termination can affect claims even when an earlier check reported active coverage. Those situations require specific documentation and should not be generalized across all plans. Confirm the basis for termination, the actual effective date, any required notices, and whether other coverage or reinstatement applies.
7. Can the practice bill the patient when a service is excluded?
Not automatically. Financial responsibility depends on the plan, provider agreement, applicable federal and state requirements, and any required notices. Certain Original Medicare situations use an ABN to address potential beneficiary liability, but an ABN is not a universal form for every insurer or service. The practice should resolve the coverage question and verify patient billing permissions before sending a statement.
8. How often should eligibility and benefits be rechecked?
Check coverage for the planned service date and repeat verification when relevant circumstances change. Common triggers include a new plan year, an insurance update, a rescheduled procedure, or a change in the service to be performed. High-risk services may justify a more detailed benefit check close to the appointment. The cadence should reflect payer rules, practice workflow, and the information available, rather than relying on a universal guarantee that a recent check will remain accurate.
Request a Free PROMBS Medical Billing Audit
An active eligibility response is useful, but it is not the end of a coverage investigation. The practice still needs to understand which benefits applied on the service date, why the claim was denied, and whether the final payment or adjustment was correct.
When those decisions are documented and monitored, practice leaders can distinguish genuine benefit exclusions from plan-change errors and supportable payer disputes. They can also reduce repeated work by improving the point where eligibility information passes from registration to billing.
If your practice is seeing recurring coverage-related denials, unclear patient balances, or discrepancies between eligibility checks and payer decisions, PROMBS offers a free medical billing and coding audit to help identify billing issues and opportunities for process improvement.